Lan Ling Wang 兰陵王 Spazz post~


OMG! This is so addicting! Lan Ling Wang started airing last week, and my enthusiasm had pretty much died off for the past couple of months since I hadn’t heard any news of it airing, and then bam! Promotional stuff EVERYWHERE!

I'll give, Feng Shao Feng did come off a little deadpan in the first few episodes but he looks so comfortable with Ariel later on, that it pretty much cancels out any complaints I had. Yep that's me- f.i.c.k.l.e.

I’ll give, Feng Shao Feng did come off a little deadpan in the first few episodes but he looks so comfortable with Ariel later on, that it pretty much cancels out any complaints I had. Yep that’s me- f.i.c.k.l.e.

I skim watched the trailer when it first came out, I don’t recommend you watch it if you intend to watch the drama, any and all c-drama promotional trailers are basically recaps of the entire series, so stay away if you’d like to actually remain somewhat curious. IMO the ending is somewhat obvious given that this one has stuck to the title and kept the character’s according to history so I wouldn’t expect Lan Ling Wang to miraculously survive. Then again when I say kept characters according to history, I do mean that lightly, it isn’t meant for the history buff, it’s your average idol drama with lots of crack OTP scenes. IMG_1013 I’m a super sucker for crack OTP’s and surprisingly Feng Shao Feng is pretty likeable as the lead, he isn’t exactly the 21st century definition of pretty, which is essentially metro sexual these days, but he has the chivalric air down to a T, which just makes him freaking gorgeous even with the atrocious wig, no really please tell me there are no more close ups or I might screen cap it again.

If he's got to carry that ugly thing on his for 46 episodes, at least put it on properly.

If he’s got to carry that ugly thing on for 46 episodes, at least put it on properly.

Daniel Chan is bloody awesome! His bloodshot fish eyes, devilish smirk, everything! I love him! Did I say that out loud and clear? Yes I did 😀 I don’t know what it is, but he really has a certain flair or maybe it’s just the fact that he is purty and has a voice to die for~ ^^

I got caught behind on a few episodes thanks to my sister, so he's been missing for a bunch of episodes, and instead I'm getting alot of cheesy 'evil' plotting from Zheng Er...bring Yu Wen Yong back!

I got caught behind on a few episodes thanks to my sister, so he’s been missing for a bunch of episodes, and instead I’m getting alot of cheesy ‘evil’ plotting from Zheng Er…bring Yu Wen Yong back!

Ariel Lin is Ariel Lin. Perfect. She still has that freaking goddess like ability to make any character on the planet loveable. She’s a brilliant spunky Xue Wu, who’s smart, and kind and I kind of feel like believing in her naivety. I don’t think I would have liked the Xue Wu if it weren’t for her. IMG_0972 As much as I do enjoy the spazzy-ness of it all, I did do some reading on the Gao family, and thought it would be cool to just do a brief on it. I was scouring the net and there isn’t really much on Lan Ling Wang as in history and since I’m already watching it, it wouldn’t kill me to read a little.

So upon my reading, turns out Gao Chan Gong (Lan Ling Wang) came from a family of pretty weirdos…or totally messed up lot. Basically a lot of rape of their own women, which I guess isn’t unheard of in history but it’s still pretty gross nevertheless. He was said to have been offered twenty concubines by the king, but he only took one, so as not to piss off the Emperor. The biggest battle he took part in was called the rescue of city of Luo Yang 洛阳, in which he lead cavalry of around 500 and surrounded the Northern Zhou army. The soldiers in Luo, were unable to recognise him, so he took off his helmet revealing his mask, which is part of the legend. Naturally upon realizing who it was, they attacked but were pounded out and in celebration the warriors danced and sang in masks.

His personality is described as somewhat ambiguous, as he was said to take bribes but on the other hand it was suggested that he took the bribes as a way to avoid suspicion from the Emperor, so go figure, who knows. As for his tragic demise, he managed to raise suspicion with the last Emperor of Northern Qi, and as a result a, cup of poison was sent to his house and sadly that was how he passed. He was only in his early 30’s when he died, around 573 A.D. Four years after his death, Northern Qi was taken down by the Yuwen family and so all of Gao’s family was also killed.

EDIT:

Yu Wen Yong is back and woah that’s a huge ass personality change O_o Also someone needs to zap Zheng Er out of here, her crazy bitch fits are getting old~~~~

no wait…dang it…I was supposed to fan girl Wei Qian Xiang a.k.a. Han Xiao Dong, another super cutie 😀 Okay I’ll shut up now ^^, IMG_0968

Sources: 1 2

Images via: Everywhere on Weibo, and my screen-caps.

5 thoughts on “Lan Ling Wang 兰陵王 Spazz post~

  1. that’s the phrase I was looking for! this drama totally makes LLW x XW into a crack TOP. tons of shippy scenes. IMO not enough YWY/XW scenes but then again I’m a YWY fan….

    It’s very interesting reading what you found out about the actual historical figure as well

    • Ahhhhh I love Daniel Chan!!! He’s sooooooo awesome!! Lol actualy I went stalking and saw..I think it was dramapot’s blog, some of his old songs, damn the generation gap is huge, I’m surprised I find him this cool even today. He’s really enigmatic as YWY XD

      I think the drama would have taken a whole 360 turn if they’d stuck to the historical events, I do hope sometime in the future someone does adapt Lan Ling Wang properly.

Show some love, rant, spazz and anything else in between :D

